This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Iran Official Name: Islamic Republic of Iran

Iran Political System: Islamic republic

Iran Location: Iran is located in the Middle East, between Turkey and Iraq on the west and Afghanistan and Pakistan on the east; it borders the Persian Gulf and Gulf of Oman in the south and Armenia, Azerbaijan, the Caspian Sea, and Turkmenistan in the north.


Iran Area: 636, 296,36 sq mi 1,648,000,00 sq km

Iran Land Boundaries: Iran is bounded by Afghanistan (936 kilometers), Armenia (35 kilometers), Azerbaijan proper (432 kilometers), Azerbaijan’s Nakhichevan enclave (179 kilometers), Iraq (1,458 kilometers), Pakistan (909 kilometers), Turkey (499 kilometers), and Turkmenistan (992 kilometers).

Iran Flag: The flag, adopted after the 1978–79 Revolution, features three horizontal bars, green (on top), white, and red, representing, respectively, Islam, peace, and courage. The bars are divided by stylized script. The white bar features a centered, red, abstract representation of the name Allah in the shape of a tulip.


Iran Capital: Tehran

Iran Population: 80.28 million (2016) World Bank

Iran Language: Persian and Persian dialects 58%, Turkic and Turkic dialects 26%, Kurdish 9%, Luri 2%, Balochi 1%, Arabic 1%, Turkish 1%, other 2%.

Iran Religion: Islam is the official religion of Iran. Moslem makes up about 98.5 per cent of population of the country.minority religion groups such as Christians, zoroastrain and Jewish.

Iran Climate: Iran enjoys a wide range of climatic conditions and it has four distinct seasons each of which has peculiarities of its own. Iran has a varied continental type of climate marked by extremes in both temperature and precipitation, summers are extremely hot along the Persian Gulf, where temperatures of 500C (1200F) are not uncommon. In inland areas, daytime highs also occasionally exceed 500C (1200F) but fall rapidly at night. Winters are generally cold, except along the milder Caspian and Persian Gulf shores, with temperatures reaching below 00C (320F) on the plateau. In Tehran the average January temperature is 20C (360F), and the average for July is 300C (860 F).precipitation
ranges from more than 1,270 mm (50 in) in the northwestern Zagros and the Alborz mountains to less than 50 mm (2 in) in southeastern areas of the central plateau.

Iran UTC/GMT Offset: Standard Time Zone: UTC/GMT +3:30 hours / Daylight Saving Time: +1 hours

Iran Currency: Rial is the standard unit of currency in Iran but in case of daily exchanges Toman (10 rials) is popular. There are coins of 10, 20, 50, 100, 250, 500 rials and paper money of 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, 5000, 10000 and 20000 rials in Iran.

Iran Public Holidays: The national holiday, Islamic Revolution Day, celebrates the victory of the Islamic Revolution on February 11, 1979. Other official holidays are Dawn (the return of Ayatollah Khomeini from 14 years of foreign exile on February 1, 1979), Noruz (Iranian New Year, March 21), Islamic Republic Day (April 1), Thirteenth Day of New Year (April 2), and several Islamic religious holidays that are reckoned in accordance with the lunar calendar and thus do not re-occur on the same dates each year.

Iran Fiscal Year: Established by the Iranian calendar, the fiscal year begins March 21.

Iran Banking Hours:
Saturday through Wednesday 07:30 - 14:30
Thursday 07:30 - 11:30
All Iranian banks remain closed on Friday.